Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Membership - Join Committees
Share |


2016 Call for Nominations! Get involved. Learn more here


Join Chapter Committees

The best way to take full advantage of your AIA membership is to participate in a committee. There are a number of committees within our chapter to choose from.  With so many different opportunities to get involved, there’s sure to be a committee for you.  We welcome prospective members to join any of our committees. It’s a great way to meet the AIA community and see what it can do for you.

Associates/Emerging Architects
Chair: Mike Elia, AIA
Co-chair: Mason Ng, Assoc. AIA

AIAPF Advisory Committee
Chair: Lance Bird,FAIA
Co-chair: Doug Ewing, FAIA

Bulletin Editorial Board 
Led by the Director of Communications, this group edits and organizes publishing of the Bulletin, the quarterly newsletter of the Chapter, for purpose of informing Chapter members and the public of upcoming meetings, professional seminars, chapter and AIA activities, and other items of interest.
Chair: Julie Arcelay

Citizen Architect Committee
Led by the 2009 Chapter President, this group focuses on the chapter's community planning and government policy which effect the built environment. They also organize taskforce groups in response to the identified, specific community issues.
Chair: Mark Gangi, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP

Communications/Outreach Committee
Led by the Director of Communications, this group promotes chapter events and works with other local organizations, local news outlets, and social media to keep our members and the public informed of chapter activities.
Chair: Julie Arcelay

Design Awards Committee
The AIA Pasadena & Foothill Design Awards program recognizes and celebrates design excellence in the Chapter area, California, and beyond. The Design Awards Committee is responsible for overseeing the program's direction and budget, selecting the jury members, and facilitating the jury meeting and awards presentation. In addition, the Design Awards Committee works with Onuma to produce the completely digital entry process on the Design Awards
web site.
Chairs: John Luttrell, AIA
Co-chair: Doug Ewing,FAIA

Fellows Committee  
The Fellows Committee aids in the selection of appropriate Chapter members for advancement to fellowship according to criteria established by the AIA. It supports and advises fellowship candidates in submission materials preparation.
Chair: Doug Ewing, FAIA 
Co-chair: Lance Bird, FAIA

Finance Committee
Chair: Amy Chang, AIA
Co-chair: Michelle Acosta, AIA

History Committee 
This committee documents, records, and archives the many records of the Chapter’s history since its founding in 1948.  Oral interivews are being conducted, and written history excerpts are being collected. These include personal memories from several emeritus members. 
Chair: James G. Spencer, AIA
Co-chair: Joe Thomas

JRD Scholarship Committee
Chair: Ken Long, AIA
Co-chair: Veronica West, AIA

Membership Committee 
Coordinated by the Membership Director, this committee discusses and develops ways to improve and enhance member benefits and services, identify and recruit new members, and retain existing members.
Chair: Dan Stein, AIA.

Nominations Committee
Chaired by the Vice President/President-Elect, he or she with the current president and three AIA members-at-large nominates members for the upcoming year’s Board of Directors.
Chair: Michelle Acosta, AIA
Co-chair: Mitch Sawasy, AIA

Programs and Special Programs Committee  
Focusing on producing relevant, quality programs for the our members.
Chapter Programs Chair: Farzin Torbati, AIA
Chapter Programs Co-chair: Zelda Wong
Chapter Programs, "Get on the Bus" Chair: Mark Gangi, AIA

First Friday Forum/Government Affairs & Advocacy Committee
Dedicated to advancing the architect's position in design, practice, and sustainable and livable communities at the local, state, and federal levels. Responsible for building and maintaining relationships with political representatives and elected officials within the chapter boundaries.
Chair: Steve Lewis, AIA

Historic Preservaton Committee
Chair: Joe Catalano
Co-chair: David Gaines

Recognition Advisory Group 
The Recognition Advisory Group monitors the activities and contributions of chapter members and local citizens and organizations whose work enhances the practice of architecture and the built environment and exemplify the goals and ideals of the profession. The Recognition Advisory Group is responsible for making timely recommendations to the Board of Directors for chapter, state, and national AIA commendations.
Chair: James G. Spencer, AIA

Sponsorship Committee
Connecting sponsorship opportunities to the Pasadena/Foothill chapter.
Chair: Erica Im, Associate AIA

Community Search